Pita Pizzas

by brookefiore

I seem to be suffering from quite the writer’s block. It’s not too often that I am unable to sit down and start typing, unsure of where I’m going but somehow come up with something worthwhile that winds itself into a recipe. Today seems to be one of those days unfortunately.

What is particularly unfortunate about this is that I often start writing posts in my mind at inopportune times. Like while I’m out on a walk, or elbows deep in potting soil, or racing over the Braga bridge to New Bedford. These times are just not conducive to posting and so on this beautiful, sunnier-than-predicted Saturday, I find myself in a disjointed rhythm of typing and backspacing ultimately left with nothing but a blinking cursor and a lot of white space.

Rather than hash it out I’m going to leave you with a lovely little recipe for pita pizzas. Though I’ve found that making your own dough is incredibly simple thanks to a stand mixer, I have yet to perfect its crispiness factor (if that makes sense). I’m often left with a slightly doughy texture despite adequate cooking time as evidenced by bubbling cheese and roasted tomato skins. So for those who lack a stand mixer, or have yet to perfect their own dough recipe, or for anyone who enjoys a nice crispy little individual pie that comes together in less than 5 minutes, this recipe is for you.

Pita Pizza

Makes two small pizzas

Ingredients:

2 Joseph’s Flax, Oat Bran and Whole Wheat Pitas

1/4 cup grated Parmesan Cheese

several thin slices of mozzarella (shredded works too)

4 grape tomatoes, thinly sliced

4 slices of thinly sliced, imported Prosciutto

1/4 to 1/2 cup tomato sauce

1 TBSP chopped fresh basil

Directions:

Preheat oven to 475F. Place pitas onto a baking sheet. Spread tomato sauce onto pita(s). Then top with Mozzarella cheese, prosciutto,  tomatoes and basil. Lastly, sprinkle with grated Parmesan cheese. Bake for about 8-10 minutes, until cheese is bubbling slightly. Remove from oven and serve!

