French Toast with Berry Yogurt Sauce

by brookefiore

I wanted to start with a repost of this lovely quote and a very big thank you to Sara over at Sprouted Kitchen for sharing it.

Have patience with everything that remains unresolved in your heart. Try to love the questions themselves as if they were locked rooms or books written in a very foreign language. Don’t search for the answers, which could not be given to you now, because you would not be able to live them. And the point is to live everything. Live the questions now. Perhaps then, someday far in the future, you will gradually, without even noticing it, live your way into the answer.

-Rainer Maria Rilke, Letters to A Young Poet

Lately, I’ve felt a bit weighed down. I find this particularly ironic as I continue to lose weight as part of my quest to return to my former slimmer self. But anyhow, this hypothetical weight (the one I can’t measure on a scale), I don’t really know what is causing it, so therefore I don’t know how to fix it. And that is where the root of all my struggles begin. I am driven to fix things. Tidy things. Arrange and organize things. I make myself (a little) crazy about it sometimes. And so, the quote above resonated quite deeply with me. For the first time in a long time I felt that it was okay to stop trying to fix everything because of course, this fixation with fixing never did equate to any great happiness anyway.

So I’m going with a different approach. I’m going to try and follow Rainer Maria Rilke’s suggestion and live everything or maybe, I’ll just strive to live a bit more presently than I currently am.

I must have subconsciously had Ashley’s latest breakfast Friday recipe in my mind this morning as I returned the Kashi Go Lean! Vanilla Crunch back to the canister and starting mashing blueberries and yogurt instead.

I had never attempted a yogurt sauce before, in fact, I’m not truly convinced that I enjoy the words yogurt and sauce sharing the same space but anyhow, I ended up making this little yogurt-milk-berry sauce using some of the jewels we picked over the holiday weekend.

Really and truly, I find myself filled to the brim with happiness when I am among those silken blueberry branches and buzzing rows of raspberries.

We quickly ate our way through the one box of raspberries that we had kept in the fridge. I stowed the rest in freezer safe bags for longer preservation. For a few years now, I’ve envisioned myself popping these frozen berries like candy in the cold winter months while I dream of July mornings, but instead, I always manage to eat them all long before the summer months wind to an end. Maybe this year will be different, though not likely given my recent discovery of this french toast topping. 

French Toast with Berry Yogurt Sauce

Serves 1

For the french toast:

2 slices whole wheat bread

1 egg

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

splash of water

Whisk egg, cinnamon, vanilla extract and a tiny bit of water in a shallow bowl. Dip slices of bread to coat and cook over medium heat in a pre-heated skilled about 1-2 minutes per side, until golden brown. Plate and top with sauce.

For the berry yogurt sauce:

1/4 cup each blueberries and raspberries – I used some of the refrigerated blueberries so I could mash them easily with a fork, like I said above, the raspberries were frozen.

1/2 cup non-fat plain Greek yogurt

2 Tbsp 1% milk

1 Tbsp unsweetened, flaked coconut

Mash blueberries in a small bowl with the back of a fork. Using the fork, whip the yogurt into the berries and add milk slowly. Whip until milk is incorporated. Add raspberries pour over french toast once plated. Top with flaked coconut and cinnamon as desired.

