Egg White Oatmeal

by brookefiore

I’ve fallen out of the posting rhythm. In keeping with my lessons learned from my previous post, I can admit that keeping up with my blog has been sitting on the back burner, it simply hasn’t been my priority. Some priorities lined up ahead of writing for the blog include: running, being outside more, experimenting in the kitchen, and going on vacation just to name a few.

For about a week and a half, I fell in love with rising before the sun and running through the deserted streets of town, while the air was still slightly cool, faint shadows of clouds hung like a canopy over the river, and the headlights of cars were sparse. I am calling this the honeymoon phase, a rainy morning deterred me, I was reminded what it was like to have that extra hour of sleep and the next clear morning, I awoke at a more reasonable hour and headed off to work, sans run.

I have a pretty bad habit of perfectionism, as if running before work is the only way to fit in exercise. I have come to embrace that it is in fact not the only way (insert sarcasm here) and I am learning to appreciate the mid afternoon Sunday run through the state park, with adequate shade provided by trees and a light sound breeze. I’m also a pretty big fan of the after work run down by the beach, and while hotter than the pre-dawn trail, the smells of the ocean and the way the markings of feet and beach buckets remain imprinted in the sand is proving to be a great way to wind down after work.

Sometimes I catch myself worrying about what will happen when it’s forty degrees out, ice lines the boardwalk and daylight savings kicks in once more. I don’t have these thoughts for long though, a beautiful moment presents itself; the sun dips beneath some trace clouds, about to settle into the sea for another evening. A sight I may have never caught had I not learned to adapt my running routine to fit into my schedule.

I did it again, I wrote about running, something that truly has nothing to do with the recipe I’m sharing with you. I think I’m sorry, not really, these two are completely related. Running and egg white oatmeal are currently topping the “what makes me happy” list. If you’re anything like me, you’re cringing at the thought of egg whites and oatmeal, together, in the same bowl. Eggs and oatmeal don’t go to together, right? Wrong, so very very wrong. The egg whites provide little to no flavor but rather a boost of protein and transform the oatmeal to a creamy, puffy texture I did not think oats were capable of.

 

Egg White Oatmeal

Serves 1

Slightly adapted from Kylie of Immaeatthat 

Ingredients:

1/3 cup dry old fashioned oats

1/2 cup water

dash of ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp vanilla or coconut extract

1/2 of a banana

2 egg whites

Optional toppings:

nuts/seeds, fresh or frozen fruit, nut butter, honey, nutmeg, etc.

Directions:

Over medium heat, cook the oats, water, vanilla (or coconut) extract and cinnamon until the oats have absorbed most of the liquid, about 3-4 minutes. Vigorously whisk in sliced banana and then whisk in egg whites until thoroughly combined. Cook another 4 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the oatmeal takes on a very light and fluffy texture. Transfer to a bowl and top with desired additions.

