Peanut Butter Honey Muffins {with chocolate chips}

by brookefiore

I’ve been thinking a bit about the barriers to posting more frequently. And do you want to know the one I can’t seem to shake?

It’s a heck of a lot easier to post about desserts and sweets.

I can’t say why, I just can’t put my finger on it. Maybe I find cupcakes and cookies easier to photograph and so the words come with less effort. But the bounty of local fresh produce has me jittering with excitement, and peaches never have to fall victim to cobbler or crisp, instead they squish in between my teeth, juice dripping down to my elbows. It doesn’t get much better than this I think. But then it does. With a little ricotta and toast and some honey. Then I’ve nearly gone to breakfast heaven. Unfortunately, this treat is consumed in the dawn hours before work an hour or so before the sun shines. Some day soon I hope to share this effortless recipe with you.

But in the mean time, I will share these.

I don’t bake very much these days, what was once comforting now seems like too much of a mess. Hence the lapse in posting.

The bowl of batter is too tempting to my finger tips and they will inevitably end up in my mouth. So these days I tend to shy away from cupcake trays and cookie sheets, unless they’re used for quiche and roasting up veggies.

But on opening day of peach picking I came across a little guy behind the glass door of the baked goods case at the farm stand. A peanut butter honey sort of guy. This guy was of course not a guy at all, he was a muffin, a less fanciful treat than a cupcake. I purchased him and I shared him, consuming half. I savored every crumb. I was left with disappointment and was in dire need of a tall glass of milk. I can make something better I thought, the flame within me flickered a bit and once home, the apron came out and the flour fluttered about the kitchen.

 

It was nice, paying a visit to my days of baking, but I am much happier these days among tomatoes and summer squash, flounder filets and sea scallops.

Peanut Butter Honey Muffins {with chocolate chips}

Adapted from Two-Tarts Blog

Makes about 18 large muffins

Ingredients:

3 ripe bananas

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup white sugar

1/4 cup honey

3/4 cup natural peanut butter

2 eggs

1/3 cup + 1 TBSP canola oil

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup unbleached, all purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/4 cup milled flax seed

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup miniature chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400F and place the bananas, sugar, honey, peanut butter, eggs, canola oil and vanilla extract into a food processor and blench until smooth.

Combine the rest of the ingredients (flours, flax seed, baking soda, salt and chocolate chips) into a large bowl. Poor the wet ingredients over the dry ingredients and mix with a wooden spoon just until combined.

Spoon into a prepared muffin tin and bake for 16-18 minutes.

