End of the Season: Zucchini Pasta with Gorgonzola, Walnuts and Cherry Tomatoes

by brookefiore

Perhaps this recipe title is a bit misleading.

 

It’s October. Columbus Day is right around the corner and it’s not the end of any season.

 

In fact, autumn in New England is in full swing.

 

And from the number of empty pumpkin puree cans in my recycling bin and the plethora of vests that hang at attention in my closet, I have proof that I’ve fully embraced the season as well.

But as the landscape changes, a few pints of cherry tomatoes linger at the farmer’s market a little while longer.  Like the drowsy bumble bees that dance from each little Mum flower, the candy-like tomatoes flirt with fall in the most wonderful way.

 

With burning orange and butter yellow hues, these tomatoes seem to fit right in among their fall produce counterparts that have since replaced the peaches and raspberries.

 

This dish is so simple I was hesitant to share it. However, these tomatoes have been a staple in my diet all summer long and in order to show my gratitude for their quirky shapes and sweet, sweet flavors I’ve snapped a few photos of just one of the many uses I’ve found for them over the past few months.

 

End of the Season: Zucchini Pasta with Gorgonzola, Walnuts and Cherry Tomatoes

Serves 1

Here’s what you will need:

1 medium zucchini, julienned {I used a mandoline}

1 oz gorgonzola

1 TBSP chopped walnuts

6 or 7 cherry tomatoes, halved

1-2 tsp pesto (homemade or store bought) – optional

Here’s what to do:

Heat zucchini noodles in a skillet over medium heat about 3 minutes, drain off any excess liquid and plate the noodles. Toss with pesto and top with gorgonzola, walnuts and cherry tomatoes.

