Baked Pumpkin Oatmeal with Peanut Butter Frosting

by brookefiore

I should warn you this post is a bit long winded.

Have you ever gotten stuck in a food rut? I am heading in a few directions with this one, so bear with me and the recipe will follow. Or scroll on by my rambling for a ramekin of goodness.

 

For starters, I am feeling a bit bored with my meals. However, I have a sneaking suspicion that this occurred out an attempt to solve my original food rut issue. I sought to simplify my meals so that I wouldn’t feel like I was constantly thinking about food.

I know I can’t be the only one.

However, it’s particularly troublesome when you’re a dietitian.

 

Some days (and lately it’s felt like most days) I can’t help but feel like I eat, sleep, breath and live food. And while the first is a given, sometimes it becomes too much of a good thing.

I once heard a coworker of mine say “when I go home I don’t even think about food.”

I couldn’t imagine.

Lately, I feel like I am always planning meals, cooking meals, talking food, teaching food, experimenting with food, writing about food and the list goes on. Turn to my pinterest boards, instagram feed and website search history and you can guess which theme seems to take center stage.

While I’m fortunate that my job allows me to indulge in my passion for healthy eating and living, I can’t help but feel like it’s too much at times. It seems as though most of my “outlets” away from work have become too closely related to work.

And so, I’ve made a few goals for myself.

  • Number one: find a new hobby and/or revisit an abandoned one (think knitting, photographing nature, jewelry making etc.)
  •  Number two: embrace the fact that caramel dipped apples, cider donuts and pumpkin pie blizzards are not the keys to my happiness and stop thinking they are going to resolve any issue, sour mood or quip I may be having.
  • Number three: plan meals and grocery shopping in a way that allows for some ease and simplicity but also still embraces the delicious tastes, textures and aromas of fall without the feelings of guilt, remorse or an upset belly.

So by now , if you’ve chosen to read this far down, you may be asking how does the aforementioned relate to today’s recipe. The common thread here is that my breakfast on my days off and weekends has pretty much flip flopped between pumpkin egg white oats and PB banana pumpkin stuffed french toast. So much so, I had almost forgotten what I ate one those days before I started buying canned pumpkin in bulk.

I woke up this morning with every intention of having eggs and toast, a smear of jelly and apple slices, after all we’ve got two giant bowls and seven varieties of apples adorning our countertop at the moment, it only seemed like the right thing to do. I also have this little “food rule” if you will, which really isn’t a rule at all, but I like to try and have something for breakfast on my days off that I can’t necessarily have at work. Think: runny eggs, stovetop oat meal, smoothies, etc. It just makes my time away from work seem that much more special.

So with an attitude of “I will not dirty a million dishes, bother with a recipe or open yet another container of pumpkin puree” I shuffled with chilled feet into the kitchen and opened the cabinet to pull out the bread. I then had a thought, a fellow blogger’s recipe for pumpkin pie baked oatmeal had been lingering in my head for days and while this would completely go against my efforts to simplify my meals and save my time to spend pursuing activities mentioned in goal number one, this breakfast sounded way better than any pre-packaged pumpkin product and would technically be a variation on my two breakfast meals that have been on repeat for several weeks now. And by variation I actually mean combination.

If the pictures don’t sell themselves let me convince you to make this breakfast.

You can bake it while you take your shower – I don’t know about you but multitasking is a big bonus in my book.

 It’s pumpkin and spice and everything nice, without sugar, processed junk or consequential belly aches.

It’s got that stick-to-your-ribs, warm you up and get you going thing going on which also means I haven’t had to turn the heat on at the house just yet.

Baked Pumpkin Oatmeal with Peanut Butter Frosting

Serves 1

Only slightly modified from Kylie’s original recipe found here.

What you’ll need for the oatmeal:

1/3 cup old fashioned oats

1/4 tsp EACH ground cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg

1/4 tsp baking powder

a pinch of salt

1/3 pumpkin puree

1 egg white

1/4 of a banana, mashed

1/4 cup skim milk

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

What you’ll need for the frosting:

The other 3/4 of the banana, mashed

1 TBSP peanut butter

1 tsp pure maple syrup

What to do:

 Preheat oven to 350 F and spray a 16 ounce ramekin lightly with non-stick cooking spray. {You might notice I didn’t use a ramekin but rather my go-to single serving casserole dish, which seemed to work just fine. The 16 ounce ramekin suggestion was provided by the original recipe}

In a medium bowl combine dry ingredients {oats, spices, baking powder and salt}. In a small bowl whisk the wet ingredients {pumpkin, egg white, mashed banana, milk and vanilla extract} together. Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients and stir to combine.

Pour into prepared ramekin and bake for 20-25 minutes or until edges begin to pull away from the sides of the dish and the center has set.

While the oatmeal is baking mash remaining 3/4 banana in a small bowl and vigorously mix in maple syrup and peanut butter. When oatmeal is finished, spread frosting over top of oatmeal and allow to cool for about 5 minutes, if you can wait that long.

 

 

