Sunrise Pizza

by brookefiore

“Gee Darrell, sure is chilly out there today, isn’t it?”

“You bet, Frank. Next thing you know we’ll have snow.”

 “Sure are right about that one.”

 I stood in line this morning waiting for my coffee, surrounded by pumpkin bowls filled with sugar packets, orange glazed apple scones in the bakery case, pumpkin spice and apple crisp coffee brewing. These two men couldn’t possibly be serious. The word snow shall not pass my lips for at least another month I silently huffed. Then suddenly, all wrapped up in halloween spirit I realized Friday would be the beginning of November. It couldn’t be true, I dismissed the notion and hovered over my dark roast pumpkin spice a moment longer before I departed.

I walked out of the coffee shop with a list of errands as long as, well as long as a child’s wish list to Santa. Yes, these men have got me using Christmas metaphors. Damn you, Frank.

 I couldn’t help but think of my one of my favorite sayings from author, Gretchen Rubin.

The days are long but the years are short. 

How many times do I find my self wishing the days by in anticipation of the next big milestone, the first snow day, the next calendar event only to find myself wondering where those little in between moments fell to.

I often need this reminder to slow down and immerse myself in the present.

Winter will inevitably come. Bone chilling nights will warrant hot cocoa and toasted marshmallows. Standstills on a snowy I-95 will plague my commute.

 

 But today is the most beautifully brisk fall day and for that I am eternally grateful. If you are lucky enough to live in an area where the seasons are in transition, take a moment to notice the autumn leaves as they now dim themselves from burning orange to gold and then finally to brown and beige, taking cover in the crevices of buildings and sidewalks as Old Man Winter sits waiting to pounce.

 Though this dish was actually my lunch today I think I’ll find myself making these for a savory Sunday breakfast sometime soon.

Sunrise Pizza

Serves 1

1 pita pocket

1 oz silken goat cheese

1 egg

2 tsp pesto (prepared or fresh)

4 or 5 cherry tomatoes, sliced in half

salt and pepper as desired

Preheat oven to 400F. Line a baking sheet with tin foil. Place the pita on the tin foil and spread a thin, even layer of goat cheese across it. Layer on pesto and then place tomato halves in a circle around the outer edge of the pita. Crack an egg in the middle. Bake for approximately 10 minutes or until egg is cooked through to your liking. Plate and season with salt and/or pepper as desired.

