Apple Ricotta Breakfast Pizza

by brookefiore

This daylight savings time change business is doing funny things to me.

 

For one, thank you to the weather channel for saving me from the confusion of why the microwave and my phone were telling me two different times. Despite numerous reminders at work, in the paper, on TV (ahem, weather channel) and my best efforts, Saturday night I collapsed in to bed without managing to set a single clock back.

Being the planner that I am, this act of negligence could very well surprise you.

 

With clocks reset and my appetite adjusting to a slightly later dinner hour, I felt that I was taking all this change in stride.

I think I recall once hearing that daylight savings time was correlated with an increase in the number of heart attacks. Now that’s a scary thought.

Anyways, without rhyme or reason, I awoke at midnight last night, a solid 3 hours after I’d settled under the covers, and I was wide awake. I thought for sure it was my usual waking time of about 4 AM. I got a drink of water and thought I’d drift back to sleep. I tossed and turned and finally decided to check instagram. Here’s where things went awry.

 

My stomach began to grumble and my mind raced with dinner ideas and breakfast ideas and get this, Christmas gift ideas. I pushed the thoughts out of my head but they persevered.

 I finally broke out my iPad and started making notes for myself to review at a later date.

With light pouring in through frosty windows this morning, I awoke, slightly less rested than I would have liked, but energized with ideas to fill my day. The main motivating factor? Putting thought to practice with this breakfast pizza.

 The apples lend a sweet flavor, cinnamon brings warmth and the pita crisps up making the perfect foundation for melted ricotta. I can’t think of a more welcome scent to chase out chilly mornings than sweet, baked apple.

Apple Ricotta Breakfast Pizza

Serves 1

1 pita pocket

1/4 cup part skim ricotta cheese

2 tsp raspberry preserves

1/2 of a medium apple, sliced to 1/4 inch thickness with a mandoline

a dash of ground cinnamon

Preheat oven 400 F and line a baking sheet with tinfoil or parchment paper. Top pita with ricotta cheese and jelly, mixing together and spread a thin, even layer over the surface of the pita, leaving a 1/4 inch crust around the edges.

Layer with apple slices, starting with the largest slices, slightly overlapping in a circular pattern until a layer covers the entire pita. Dust with cinnamon and bake for 8 minutes. Allow to cool for about 1 minute before cutting and serving.

