Spicy Buffalo Cauliflower & Broccoli Bites

by brookefiore

As the forecasted high seems to dip a bit lower each day, I find myself less inclined to snack on fresh veggies. Though all summer long I crunched away on red pepper sticks and carrot slices (with the occasional side of blue cheese dressing to make things real exciting); now I find myself returning home from work in what feels like the early evening with a rumbling stomach, chilly bones and an appetite seeking warmth.

 

Of course. most times it is not early evening, only late afternoon, but smokey grey shadows of wood stoves drift lazily out of chimneys against skies as black as cast iron. The sweet and thick aroma of colder days settles over the town and my mind remains confused, swearing I should be well on my way to making dinner already.

 

But I recall sunnier afternoons after work, riddled with humidity, spent jogging along the pastures overlooking the river where raspberries grew wild and the horses white tails flicked the pesky flies away in what seemed to be in perfect harmony with the tunes that filled my headphones.

 

Priorities of this seasonal change have included winter running gear, warmer blankets, woolen sweaters, many cups of hot tea and now, roasted vegetables.

Winter squashes serve as the shining stars to many dinners, but it’s their less starchy counterparts that really make my heart sing. Some days it’s as simple as a bag of steamed mixed vegetables, other days it’s a heaping pile of steamed broccoli seasoned with smoked paprika or covered in a light blanket of parmesan cheese. But today, after a long walk through the woods an idea filled my mind without warning.

 

Dark charcoal clouds piled high in the sky and remaining leaves seemed to tremble, there must be a storm coming, I thought to myself. I ducked inside with a recipe brewing in my head, the bag of baby carrots stared at me bleakly from the crisper. I fired up the stove filling the house with scents of roasted garlic chasing away the blustery day that had so quickly descended upon on us.

  

Spicy Buffalo Cauliflower & Broccoli Bites

Serves 2

1 head of cauliflower, stems removed with florets chopped into bite-sized pieces

1/2 medium head of broccoli, stems removed with florets chopped into bite-sized pieces.

1 clove garlic, minced

2 TBSP Buffalo Wing Sauce

salt and pepper as desired

 Preheat oven to 400F and line a a baking sheet with non-stick spray or tin foil and set aside. Wash and trim florets of broccoli and cauliflower and spread in a single layer onto the prepared baking sheet. Spray with non-stick cooking spray and sprinkle minced garlic over the florets.

Bake for approximately 20-25 minutes. Remove from oven, stirring the florets around and then drizzle with buffalo sauce. Return to oven for 2 minutes. Remove and serve immediately. Season with salt and pepper if desired.

