Peanut Butter Granola Yogurt Bowl with Peanut Butter Banana Frosting {for one}

by brookefiore

Granola has been sending me subliminal messages lately.

It’s popping up on my instagram feed. Daily.

It’s filling up jars on pinterest in all its DIY gifting glory.

The crunchy leaves and twigs and berries of the forest tell me to go home and make granola. Or at least that’s what I’m choosing to hear as I bound over rocks and moss following the blue blazen trail on yet another weekend hike.

You’re probably thinking, this girl should really hit the cereal aisle and get herself a box of granola. And you’re probably right. I probably should. And I absolutely could.

But I don’t want granola from a box. Not when I could be in the good company of toasted oats in my very own kitchen.

I’m also slightly fearful of the short time it would likely last in my cupboard. You see, granola is just one of those foods I cannot seem to handle. I don’t want a serving. I don’t want a handful. I want more. And so it goes, I usually go without. It’s just one of those foods for me. And with every handful comes a hefty amount of calories from fat and sugar, particularly if we are indulging the in the store-bought variety.

The idea for today’s breakfast is two-fold.

Last week I was doing a bit of research for an upcoming trip I’ll be making into the city and decided I would finally venture to Chobani SoHo. I was amused as their take on something as commonplace as the peanut butter and jelly sandwich. With all the fixings already in my cupboards, I made a mental note to do a little experimenting of my own.

Come Sunday morning, I scrolled through a few of my favorite blogs before emerging from the covers and starting my day. Is it incredibly bizarre that it still amazes me that by sleeping until 7AM on the weekend means I’ve slept in for 3 whole hours longer than my average work day?

Anyways, I was over at Best Friends For Frosting and I came across this recipe for peanut butter granola with grape jelly frosting.

With the seed already planted for PB&J, and my desire for granola still lurking I scuffed into the kitchen.

Because this recipe only serves one, once the granola is gone, it’s gone! No temptation for stealing a second (or third, or fourth) handful but with all of the warmth and sweetness I had ever desired. Why had the idea of granola for one escaped me until now?

Peanut Butter Granola Yogurt Bowl with Peanut Butter Banana Frosting {for one}

 Serves 1

Ingredients:

For the peanut butter granola:

1/3 cup old fashioned oats

1 tsp honey

1 TBSP smooth (or chunky) peanut butter

pinch of salt

1 TBSP chopped, dried, cranberries

For the yogurt:

1/2 cup plain, nonfat Greek yogurt of your choice

2 tsp grape jelly

For the peanut butter banana frosting:

1/2 of a small banana, mashed

1 TBSP smooth peanut butter

Preheat oven to 350F. Spray a small round ramekin with non-stick cooking spray.

Mix all ingredients for the peanut butter granola in a small bowl until combined and mold into the ramekin. Bake for 20-25 minutes.

While granola is baking, prepare yogurt by mixing jelly into plain yogurt in the serving bowl and set aside.

With a fork, vigorously mix mashed banana and peanut butter together and set aside.

Once granola is done baking, pour over yogurt and top mixture with peanut butter banana frosting.

